When you hear “Hakuna Matata”, what comes into your mind first?

Of course, The Lion King!

In 1994 the Walt Disney Animation Studios animated movie The Lion King brought the phrase international recognition, featuring it prominently in the plot and devoting a song to it. A meerkat and a warthog, named Timon and Pumbaa respectively, teach the main character, a lion cub named Simba, that he should forget his troubled past and live in the present. The song was written by Elton John(music) and Tim Rice (lyrics), who found the term in a Swahili phrase book.[2] It was nominated for Best Original Song at the 1995Academy Awards, and was later ranked the 99th best song in movie history by the American Film Institute on a list of 100.[3]

(c) Wikipedia

Hakuna Matata simply means no worries / no problem / don’t worry, be happy.

For me, it means that for you to be able to enjoy your present and be happy in the future, you should be open minded and forget all the negative things that is happening or has happened and move on.

Frankly, I over think a lot.

And when I say a lot, I really mean A LOT.

I kept thinking about what happened before and I just can’t seem to move on from the past.

People say that I have an “I don’t care” attitude toward a lot of things – which is true – but there are just some things that don’t leave my mind.

As my over thinking self thought about various things before this year has officially started, I figured that I really have to let go of the things that hold me back.

*****

To get a permanent tattoo was on my mind for a long time already.
(No, I still don’t have one)

I want one but I don’t know what image or text I would want my tattoo to be.

As I searched the internet for small images of tattoos, I came across the Hakuna Matata symbol.

images

I don’t know what is in it but I loved it the first time I saw it.

I kept the picture on my phone for months and just last week, when I was in Boracay for a short vacation, I grabbed the opportunity to have it drawn on me.

No, not permanetly..just a temporary henna tattoo.

Unlike my model picture, I didn’t have mine drawn on my wrist.

I had it placed just below my right collar bone.

Why?

I dunno.

I find it sexy.

HAHAHA!!

Here is the picture..

CYMERA_20131227_224338

In the future though, when I have the guts to get a permanent one…if that even happens… I don’t think I’d like to have it below my collar bone.

Yes, it is fine when you’re on a vacation and all but I wouldn’t want anyone and everyone to just see it.

I want it to be seen just during vacations.

Probably somewhere where one can see it only when you’re wearing a swimwear or something similar.

And as for what is in the tattoo, I’m still not sure if I want the same symbol.

People told me it was too plain.

Anyway..

Before I end this, click this for the clip where Hakuna Matata was explained in The Lion King movie ^^

Enjoy!

My motto for this year: Hakuna Matata!

What’s yours? 🙂

-wanderrwithmee

