The end doesn’t always indicate an end.. it can also mean an “and”.
A lot of people think that when something ends, it is the end.
That nothing can spring out from it any more.
That nothing can be done already.
But they are wrong.

200458043-001

I’m sure someone once asked you about a glass being half full or half empty.
(Half full –  optimistic, half empty –  pessimistic)
It is just like that.
Choose to look at the brighter side of things.
I know sometimes one can’t help by be sad and think about negative thoughts but that is just part of life.
Instead of thinking of it as an end –  may it be a farewell because you are migrating, a school year that ended, being fired from work – think of it as an and.
How will you have a “new” life abroad that you will enjoy if you keep on living in the past?
How will you be able to meet and have new friends if the school year/term doesn’t end?
How will you be able to grow, learn from experience, possibly have your dream job and even your own business if you are too busy working there?

There is always a brighter side.
Look for it and you will be happy.

If you’ve read my previous blog posts, I mentioned that I took a basic Korean course – which I promised to blog about.
It was actually just a short one. 10 weeks, 3 hours each = 30 hours.
Though we only had a short time to learn and discuss, we actually finished the whole module –  Sogang University’s Korean Module 1.

Two weeks before our exam schedule, our class and our teacher was planning a farewell dinner after the final exam.
Our teacher said that we can bring friends and that he will try bringing some of his korean friends too so we can meet them.

Last March 16, 2013 was our final examination which is composed of a written exam (50 questions) and an oral exam (self introduction & 3 random questions to be drawn).
Thankfully, we had a mini review before the test began so I found the written exam easy to moderate.
As each of us finishes the written test, our teacher will be calling us one by one for the oral exam.

When I was called, I instantly became shy..not because of my teacher but because two of his korean friends were there!
First, my 선생님/teacher introduced them to me then he looked at me and said “begin your introduction”.
He wasn’t looking to me AT ALL and the chair I was sitting on was faced to his friends so I said, “to them?”.
And he said yes.

I think I was pretty successful in introducing myself and saying 5 random facts about me but my heart was just racing so fast that my mind went blank after the first question.
Thankfully, the one who was asking the question, Victoria, was really very kind. They were actually helping me answer the question by helping me dissect the sentence!
For the second and third sentence, I think I answered better.
After my turn, I felt so relieved that my turn was done but also nervous at the same time cause I don’t know my grade yet.

After everyone was called, we planned our transportation.
How we will go there and who rides with whom.
We dined at Woorijib! A korean restaurant near the school.

Unfortunately, just minutes after we settled down, Victoria needed to go already because she needs to attend a band rehearsal (for their church I think.)
And so she left.

Almost everyone in our group had unlimited sampgyupsal for dinner!
For only PhP 399/₩10,700/$9.7, we had unlimited pork, lettuce, soup and a variety of 반찬/banchan/side dishes – which were all very delicious!
It was really worth it!

IMG_8818
ze holy grill!
IMG_8820
lettuce
IMG_8821PORK +++++BANCHAN!!
IMG_8830
Soup

Because of the arrangement of seats, I was mostly having conversations with 선생님/seonsaengnim/teacher, my 언니/eonnie/sister, My 친구/chingu/friend, my classmate who was a teacher, my seatmate in class and Marco, my teacher’s 한국 친구/hanguk chingu/ korean friend which is also our friend now. ^o^

Though it is like a farewell dinner, it is not the end.

It is only the start of new friendships and more memories to be made.

I have no regrets in taking up this class and I am looking forward to seeing them again.

Here are some of the group pictures we have 🙂

my eonnie and me

my eonnie and me

me - Jay-R seonsaengnim - eonnie

me – Jay-R seonsaengnim – eonnie

some of my close chingus!

some of my close chingus!

me - Marco - eonnie

me – Marco – eonnie

group picture!

group picture!

That is it for now.

Always remember: “Not all that ends signifies an end. It can also signify an and.” -wanderrwithmee

—wanderrwithmee

