For my first review, I’m going to feature Cafe De Seoul which recently opened beside my university.

0

 

298298_483223045059663_775141851_n

As their page says..

Cafe De Seoul is a benchmark of Korean style cafe that offers hot and cold beverages, gourmet products, sandwiches, cakes & pastries.

It is positioned to bring coffee and food influenced by Korean tradition and taste.

The concepts of Cafe De Seoul is based on three simple strategies; Quality Products & Services, Seoul Culture and Trendy & Modern architectural design to bring comfort and feel-good ambiance to it’s customers.

And I must admit that I witnessed all of these myself in just a span of the 10 minutes I was in there.

Their address: Unit 12, 2/F One Archer’s Place Bldg, Manila, Philippines – click here for directions 🙂

*****************************************************************************************************

It was a Saturday when I needed to get something from school.

Because I’ve been seeing the facade of this cafe for weeks already when I transfer from one building to another because of my classes and because it looks so attractive from the outside, I decided to finally take a peek.

Originally, my sister and I was just supposed to take a peek inside because we have other errands to run that day but everything was just so appealing to the eye that we just had to buy something.

First Strategy: Quality Products & Services

Since we don’t have much time, we opted for a Banoffee Pie which costs PhP 115.00 (~USD 2.8/KRW 3,000)

From Wikipedia: Banoffee pie (also spelled banoffi, or banoffy) is an English dessert pie made from bananas, cream and toffee from boiled condensed milk (or dulce de leche), either on a pastry base or one made from crumbled biscuits and butter. Some versions of the recipe also includechocolate, coffee or both.

Its name is a portmanteau constructed from the words “banana” and “toffee”

Below is the image of the banoffee pie :>  (sorry for the quality and angle because we were in a moving car)

16

17

Visually appealing? CHECK!

Taste? 100/100!! (Usually it is only over 10 but I’ll make an exception for this^^)

I am honestly not a fan of too much sweet stuff and I don’t like pies that much but because my sister wanted it, we ordered this.

It was soooooooooooooooo good that no words are enough to describe how good it is.

My sister is a graduate of Culinary Arts and she regularly bakes and buys sweets so I decided to ask her the more detailed review for this.

Compared to the other banoffee pies that she has tried, this was different.

The cream alone has a unique taste to it unlike other creams which usually doesn’t have a flavor.

The bananas in it were chunks even though from the outside it looks like it only has mashed bananas.

Because of the banana chunks, every bite you’ll take will be much more sumptuous.

The base was flavorful even without the cream! (Which is very rare.)

The dulce de leche was just right in amount and in level of sweetness.

The drizzled syrup on the top also blended well into the whole pie.

It is definitely a must try!!

Second Strategy: Seoul Culture

I am fond of researching about different cultures especially that of Korea.

Seoulites or even just Koreans in general are known to be coffee lovers who loves cutesy and homey cafes.

Also, their love for technology is evident. This cafe reflects all that.

Technology:

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to take a picture of the large flat screen wall-mounted TV but below you’ll be able to see a portion of it with the tumblers and mug collections they have for sale. (*click the pictures for enlarged images)

7

Coffee lovers:

For the coffee loving part, they even have this drip coffee machine/apparatus which produces their Dutch Coffee for hours!

8

The small bottles on the left side are filled with the concentrated Dutch Coffee.

Because of the mirror and the light, I couldn’t capture the price of it. Sorry!

11

Cutesy and homey cafes:

6

These are some books they have which you can borrow during your stay there.

The cafe itself has a very “feel at home” feel to it.

I (again) failed to take pictures of the wall decorations they have around the cafe but there is this area where you can write down notes on post-its and post it on the wall for everybody to see. They also have an area wherein you can clip your pictures during your visit of the wall.

Third Strategy: Trendy & Modern architectural design

Seoul Culture is trendy and modern in itself.

What I’ve said from the second strategy is also applicable here.

As you can see, their menu is shown on the TV screens.

Also, the font of their “Departure” and “Arrival” area signifies the digital age that we have today.

3

The two farthest TV screens are for their advertisements.

12

From their entrance to their decorations, you can see how modern and trendy their cafe is.

1

4(0)

Look past beyond the people here and you will see the frames on the leftmost part.

There are also stools there and cocktail tables. In the middle of those tables are Samsung Galaxy tablets!!

(When we went there though, they were turned off. Maybe you need to ask the manager to open it ^^)

How modern can this cafe get! 🙂

4(1)
5

Because of the lack of time, we weren’t able to try other food or drinks but I’m sure that we’ll definitely be back here.

14

I badly want to taste their patbingsu because the first patbingsu I tasted was really good and it was also from a korean store.

Their waffles on the menu were also enticing and the drinks were really very colorful.

That’s it for my first review and I hope you check them out!

—wanderrwithmee

*****************************************************************************************************

Rating:
Banoffee Pie – 10/10
Ambiance –  5/5
Servers –  5/5 (very friendly)
Price –  4/5
Satisfaction –  9/10 (Because we still haven’t tried much)
Recommend : Definite yes!!
